Schinkel competition // Torch of Potsdam

The renowned Schinkel competition of the Association of Architects and Engineers in Berlin has taken place annually since 1852. Together with a team of civil engineers, DER MEDIENBAYER participated in this competition in 2012.

The task was the construction and visualization of a new pedestrian bridge in Potsdam. The ambitious design of the engineers developed a unique static with an efficiency of 0.47 t/m. The architecture was inspired by historic wooden lattice beams and its corrugated shape and the use of pressure impregnated wood as a building material created an organic appearance. A particular challenge was to enable pedestrians a barrier‐free crossing of the bridge, while still ensuring that ships can navigate through.

The creative implementation in Cinema4D was relatively complex as well: from the data transfer of the in AutoCAD constructed bridge, to texturisation and lighting, to the insertion of background compositings and rendering with Global Illumination.

Design, static and construction: Korbinian Falk, Christoph Goschin, Julian March, Max Gerber

3D visualisations and graphic design: Matthias Lindner, DER MEDIENBAYER

Schinkel-Wettbewerb // Fackel von Potsdam

Der rennomierte Schinkel‐Wettbewerb des Architekten‐ und Ingenieur‐Vereins zu Berlin wird seit 1852 jährlich ausgelobt. DER MEDIENBAYER hat sich 2012 gemeinsam mit einem Team von Bauingenieuren an diesem Wettbewerb beteiligt.

Aufgabe war die Konstruktion und Visualisierung einer neuen Fußgängerbrücke in Potsdam. Der ambitionierte Entwurf der Ingenieure entwickelte eine einzigartige Statik mit einer Effizienzzahl von 0,47 t/m. Die Architektur orientierte sich an historischen Holzgitterträgern und erschuf mit einer gewellten Form und druckimprägnierten Hölzern als Baumaterial ein organisches Aussehen. Besondere Herausforderung war der Anspruch, den Passanten ein barrierefreies Überqueren zu ermöglichen und trotzdem die Unterfahrbarkeit durch Schiffe zu gewährleisten.

Auch die gestalterische Umsetzung in Cinema4D war relativ komplex: von der Datenübernahme der in AutoCAD konstruierten Brücke, über Texturierung und Beleuchtung bis zum Einfügen der Hintergrund‐Compositings und dem Rendern mit Global Illumination.

Entwurf, Statik und Konstruktion: Korbinian Falk, Christoph Goschin, Julian März, Max Gerber

3D‐Visualisierungen und Grafikdesign: Matthias Lindner, DER MEDIENBAYER